Social Media’s Role in the Search for Employment and Employees

2 May

Social Media Breakfast Toledo brought together Don Leith, Kevin Cesarz, Patty Wise and Brandon Croke to examine Social Media’s Role in the Search for Employment and Employees at Thread Information Design in Maumee.

Leith, a National Sales Executive with CareerBuilder.com; Cesarz, the Director of Social Media at Thread; Wise, an attorney at Niehaus and Associates; and Croke, a consultant at Career Bull, shared ideas and strategy on smartly navigating a dramatically different employment landscape.

This is the first in a series of chapters from this panel discussion that will include detail on building personal brand, smartly editing social profiles on LinkedIn, Google, Twitter and Facebook and the risks and benefits to employees and employers.

2 Responses to “Social Media’s Role in the Search for Employment and Employees”

  1. bcroke May 3, 2010 at 5:29 am #

    Great video Kevin! I’m glad you got this recorded.

    I thought each panelist came from a very different perspective, which I really enjoyed. Unfortunately I think it’s hard to provide a ton of value with a general discussion on the topic, especially if there are people in the audience who just “need a job”.

    I wish we would have sent out a survey monkey for some feedback (I probably I should have just done it), but I would have liked to seen some of the demographics in the room, what they were looking for, and what they got out of it.

    One statistic that I wanted to share on the panel (but forgot) is that in the past two years social media jobs listings have increased by 600%. I’m not sure how relevant that percentage is, but I do know there are lots of opportunities with the “new rules of marketing and PR”.

    Unfortunately most marketing majors at “top colleges in Ohio” are trained on few, if any of these tools. Granted, there are some stand out professors that may be teaching some things here or there, but overall business schools are failing to prepare Gen. Y for the 2010 world of business.

    Most marketing majors (and 50% of all college graduates overall) take jobs in some type of sales role that usually involves interrupting other peoples lives with cold-calling. This is fine of course, but I think you and I both agree that cultivating great content, conversations and connections via SM is way more fun (and effective) than interrupting people’s days with the pre-2000 marketing tactics.

    As I I help college students go out and find jobs there is a common complaint (and false belief) that “there are no jobs out there.” I guess the one good thing about colleges is that not teaching this stuff gives a great competitive advantage for inquisitive self-starters.

    In the end I think people hire people they know and trust, and there is no better way to bridge that gap than using social media.

  2. klcesarz May 3, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    Well said, Brandon. I feel that those professors still training in interuptive mmarketing are ceeding a huge portion of the field to those of us that feel comfortable in the social media space. It is a great time to have access to the “new rules of marketing and PR.” David Meerman Scott was my entry point into social media. I feel fortunate that I entered the space with no bad habits to break – transitioning from media to new marketing.
    More video to come. It was so crisp and dynamic that we will roll out more new segments and combine all in a custom player on my YouTube channel – MrElshMedia. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

